Noobcake question about admissions/prep

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
OldTymeyFaceSmasher

Noobcake question about admissions/prep

Postby OldTymeyFaceSmasher » Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:20 pm

I won't bore you all with my life story. I'm a non-traditional applicant -- military from 1999-2005, went to a small, private liberal arts college afterwards, cumulative GPA between there and some other classes is 3.8. Right now I work in the oil business but it sucks and I'm going to law school instead.

My problem is that I work ridiculous shifts/hours. My schedule is 7 days of evening shift, 2 days off, 6 days of day shift, 1.5 days off, 7 days of midnight shift, 4 days off, then it starts over again. I frequently work 12/16 hour days.

Am I going to be able to take a prep-class on this kind of schedule, or should I not bother? The hours are severe and non-negotiable. I have a lot of down time at work but I have to be there a lot, so that is ideal for book studying (I already bought the logic games bible) and practice test taking.

Also, does being a non-trad (besides being a white male) hinder your ability to get into T14 schools? I live in NJ, so I wouldn't mind going to Penn/Cornell if that's what was offered after all is said and done.

Finally, should I try and take the LSAT in June? Or is it safe to wait and take in October? I want to apply for 2012. If I take the October one, will I have the scores, etc, in time for that year's application time?

FiveSermon

Re: Noobcake question about admissions/prep

Postby FiveSermon » Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:22 pm

Don't take a prep class. Read up on self prep strategies on these forums. They can be done on your schedule and are as effective if not more than most prep classes are.

Being non trad doesn't hurt you.

OldTymeyFaceSmasher

Postby OldTymeyFaceSmasher » Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:34 pm

Cool beans.