Unreported Academic Dishonesty

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
GuyTryingToBeHonest

Unreported Academic Dishonesty

Postby GuyTryingToBeHonest » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:53 pm

hey guys, long time lurker here.

I've had something eating at my conscious lately, and want some input as to what I should do about it.

When I was a freshman (in 2006 at a school that isn't my current degree granting institution) I cheated in one of my classes. It wasn't plagiarism, stealing answers for an exam, or anything of that nature. In this particular class assignments were graded in class by each person individually, and scores were reported on the honor system. On 4 or 5 assignments (I think, it's all kind of hazy at this point) I either inflated my scores or reported a score without actually doing the assignment. I'm unsure of the weight of these assignments, and don't even really remember how many there were total. The rest of the courses' assignments I'm pretty sure I got zeros on (I never went to class that semester), and totally bombed the tests. I ended up with a D in the course, and am unsure if the difference those assignments made would have dropped me into the F range (though admittedly I deserve the F just for cheating). I was obviously never caught, but currently feel guilty for doing this.

Aside from this, I have never cheated in any class. Since that semester my grades have been near perfect (3.8+ every semester).

Morally, I feel like I should report this to my former UG even though I was never caught, but realize it could have a damaging effect on my admission chances. Am I being ridiculous for thinking I should? The difference in grades obviously wouldn't change my GPA too much, but will the reported academic dishonesty kill my chances of getting into law school?

Maybe I'm over-thinking this.

txadv11

Re: Unreported Academic Dishonesty

Postby txadv11 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:57 pm

Is this a joke?

If not, I'd say you are over-thinking this.