HELP!!! Northeastern VS UCONN Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BEH321

New

HELP!!! Northeastern VS UCONN

Post by BEH321 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:38 pm

Which would you pick???

JOThompson

Silver

Re: HELP!!! Northeastern VS UCONN

Post by JOThompson » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:41 pm

No scholarship at either? What type of law do you want to practice and where?

A lot of people on this board will discourage you from attending either, even with major scholarships. To give you advice, we'd some more info though.

BEH321

New

Post by BEH321 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:47 pm

A lot of people on this board will discourage you from attending either, even with major scholarships. .[/quote]

Why is that?
Haven't gotten my finaid from UCONN yet, got a little bit from NU but that is to be expected I am a NU graduate. I want to do Corporate most likely and eventually switch to working for the government. Also, if possible, I would like to work in Boston.

BEH321

New

Post by BEH321 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:47 pm

Also, if I attend NU I will try to transfer after the first year to BU or BC.

snapdragon

Silver

Post by snapdragon » Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:02 pm

Here are some things to think about:

1. If you live in CT, you will get in state at UConn for 2L and 3L which brings tuition down to about $22k / year. COL in CT is probably lower than Boston.

2. If you absolutely want to get firm work in Boston, you will need to be in the top 10% (guesstimate) at UConn and probably similar at Northeastern.

3. If you want to transfer to BC/BU you will probably have to be in the top 15-20% at either school. There is an 80%+ likelihood that you will not be able to transfer. This really, really should not be a factor in your decision. You will almost certainly graduate from the school you choose to attend next year. I know it's tempting to think about, but it's an improbability at best.