Letters of Rec Questions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gocats1

Letters of Rec Questions

Postby gocats1 » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:17 pm

Hey all,

I am currently an undergraduate jr. planning to apply to law school next year, but have a question about letters of recommendation. While I have one from my supervisor from my internship at my local district attorney's office last summer, and could likely get one from an internship supervisor following this summer, I don't know any professors well enough to ask for one. While I do work in a Psych lab with a professor, most of the work is pretty independent so I do not interact with him regularly. This upcoming quarter I plan on attending office hours in an effort to get to know professors, but was wondering if law schools generally prefer a certain number from professors vs. work supervisors (I realize this might differ by school). Also, if anyone has any general advice about getting letters of rec from profs, I would really appreciate it. For example, how often should I attend office hours?

sarahlawg

Re: Letters of Rec Questions

Postby sarahlawg » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:16 pm

I don't know if you already do this, but you should also try to talk in class. I was able to establish very good relationships when I was in school mainly through a) working closely with my adviser, which bridged several other relationships within the department b) doing the work then talking in class c) going to office hours to talk about assignments and thoughts you had about the class. Showing them you want to do well gives them a good impression of you, especially when you follow up with good grades. Also, I have found that treating them like people and not just professors (using humor, primarily) helps a lot.

HTH! good luck next cycle :)

loblaw

Postby loblaw » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:28 pm