CPA vs MAcc

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
TheCaptain

CPA vs MAcc

Postby TheCaptain » Fri Mar 18, 2011 4:30 pm

TLSers - Greetings from another person seeking your collective advice.

I want to be a tax attorney. To get an edge in the job market, I've decided to study accounting at the University of Texas at Dallas before heading to law school. It would take me one year to finish the required classes for the CPA (I know there is also a work requirement) whereas it would take a year and a half to earn a master's in accounting.

What do you guys see as the pros/cons of these options? Will studying accounting even really help me get a better job during or after law school? The CPA would get me in law school a year earlier, but I have a feeling the master's might be more beneficial in the long run. Am I being retarded? Please help.

Relevant numbers:
2.9 from UT Austin
164 LSAT
Mid-twenties

Looking forward to hearing from you.

YaSvoboden

Re: CPA vs MAcc

Postby YaSvoboden » Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:02 pm

I have looked into this for myself quite a bit. The advice I have gotten from forums and, more importantly, professors that are tax attorneys with the CPA/Macc is that the law degree is what really matters. I was also advised to go somewhere that I can get the J.D. and LLM in 3 or 3 1/2 years combined. The best thing that I have heard about having the other designations is that it can help you get that first job, but that is mostly with work experience in the field.

That said, I am still very seriously looking into picking up the MAcc and as long as there isn't a huge cost to it I don't see a drawback to having an extra degree.

On a side note, Why not back to UT Austin for the Accounting classes?

robotclubmember

Postby robotclubmember » Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm