Ah, The girlfriend and the LSAT. Need advice.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Ah, The girlfriend and the LSAT. Need advice.

Postby 152 » Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:06 pm

Here is the situation, I am one year removed from college while my girlfriend is finishing her senior year. I will try to keep this somewhat short but I would really like some impartial opinions on the subject. Basically, I graduated this past May and took a year off, I got a job and studied my ass for the LSAT. Needless to say I did well on the LSAT and am now attending a T20 on a pretty nice scholarship. My girlfriend on the other hand, has not taken the exam as seriously. In the recent past she has stated that she does not want to "use" her law degree but to have it to help boost her future career plans in the field of public policy. She took a TestMaster class in the Fall and self prepped and just got her score back from the December test. She received a score in the low 150's. I want to steer her in the right direction but she does not seem very motivated to study. We just finished talking and she still wants law school but I am unsure of the advice to give her at this point. The June test is out and by the time the October/December test roll around she will be working full time in NY. Her parents, (who hate me for undisclosed reasons) think that it does not matter which LS you attend and that the caliber of school does not matter? I find this very odd because they had sent her to a high school that cost more than my college and a UG that cost 3 times more than my UG. Anyway, does anyone have any advice as to how I can smoothly talk her into either 1. Studying more and getting motivated or 2. Going after her GRE? I am already in hot water with the parents so I do not want them to think I am killing her dreams/holding her back from LS.