Splitter Retake?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
alexonfyre

Splitter Retake?

Postby alexonfyre » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:02 pm

Hey guys, I am a pretty severe splitter (2.9/166) with average softs. I know the t14 is out for me, but my plan is to apply to regional schools in areas I really want to work in: places like Tulane, GSU, George Washington, Forham, UC-Hastings, UC-Davis, Lewis and Clark, and Kent-IIT/Loyola-Chicago are the most prominent. I have also been told by many people (including TLS) to write a GPA addendum, since my circumstances were severe and I have an extreme upward grade trend (0.0 to 3.7) and I have 2 years of working experience (since graduation) in a law related field which plays heavily into why I plan to go into law, and what I want to do. I only did about 2 weeks worth of studying for the LSAT because I found out I could take it on very short notice.
What I need help with:
Is my 166 good enough to pursue that path or should I study more and retake again during the summer?

beachbum

Re: Splitter Retake?

Postby beachbum » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:07 pm

Retake. If you only studied for 2 weeks, you can do significantly better than you 166. Since Chicago seems to be one of your target markets, shoot for a ~171 and ED to Northwestern. This is probably as good as you're gonna get in terms of both job prospects and value, as you're unlikely to get big (game-changing) scholarships at most other worthwhile schools. Though you might also want to add Illinois and WUSTL to your app list.

TTH

Postby TTH » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:20 pm

Study up for the LSAT and retake. I don't know if a 171 gets you to Northwestern, but it definitely gets you into some T1s and probably with money.

alexonfyre

Postby alexonfyre » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:24 pm