Thinking about leaving PhD program with an MS and go to law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
justanothernerd

New

Thinking about leaving PhD program with an MS and go to law

Post by justanothernerd » Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:17 pm

Hi,

I'm in an engineering PhD program at MIT, and for a variety of reasons, I'm thinking about leaving my program to go to law school. I have long-term doubts about my project and my adviser is a bit inflexible and a lot of the older students in my lab are really struggling to graduate and get papers. My options are either to switch labs and have to start over (I'm in my second year, and I'm not really interested in that), or I'm planning on starting to study for the LSAT and pursue IP law. I have free cross-registration at HLS and am thinking about taking a course or two there next semester.

Is leaving a PhD program with a Master's considered a bad 'soft'? I think after two years, I'm finding that research isn't a good fit for me, so if I have 3+ more years to go, I'd rather do them in law school. Has anyone here either been in a situation similar to mine, or have heard of people in similar situations? Will leaving the PhD program affect my chances at employment later on, or will the Master's give me a boost (esp. for IP law)?

Thanks.

Diamond

Re: Thinking about leaving PhD program with an MS and go to law

Post by 09042014 » Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:21 pm

justanothernerd wrote:Hi,

I'm in an engineering PhD program at MIT, and for a variety of reasons, I'm thinking about leaving my program to go to law school. I have long-term doubts about my project and my adviser is a bit inflexible and a lot of the older students in my lab are really struggling to graduate and get papers. My options are either to switch labs and have to start over (I'm in my second year, and I'm not really interested in that), or I'm planning on starting to study for the LSAT and pursue IP law.