M.D. Will this soft help, hurt, not really matter

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mdpello

M.D. Will this soft help, hurt, not really matter

Postby mdpello » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:20 am

Im a physician (MD), Board Certified Psychiatrist, 3.89 GPA under grad 1989 and UW med school grad 1994. I just took the LSAT today! First time. Im taking a year off after my dad's death and have been thinking about reinventing myself and pursuing a new career in health care law. I have no idea how I did on the LSAT, probably not great since my preptests were coming in mid-150'ish. I am not sure if having a MD degree will help me or not when applying.....is it really just the numbers that will matter? I wonder if could even hurt my application since when I tell others I want to go to law school, the majority look at me as if I'm nuts and take a step back because I'm a physician and I should be content doing this........but I see law school as an exciting, interesting and desirable change. Thanks all, great forum.....M

NoleinNY

Re: M.D. Will this soft help, hurt, not really matter

Postby NoleinNY » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:25 am

It is mostly a numbers game, unfortunately.

How hard have you been studying for the LSAT? If you can get in the high 160s/low 170s that could help you, especially at a school like Northwestern. A 159 LSAT + 3.89 gpa is not going to get you much, MD or not.

Study harder/smarter (there are a lot of very helpful guides on these forums) and retake it. Clearly, having gone through the rigors of MCATs + Med school, etc, you can handle that.

typ3

Postby typ3 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:28 am

NoleinNY wrote:How hard have you been studying for the LSAT? If you can get in the high 160s/low 170s that could help you, especially at a school like Northwestern. A 159 LSAT + 3.89 gpa is not going to get you much, MD or not.

+1 mostly a numbers game. get a 165 and you'll get into northwestern imo.. they love non-trad apps like yours

mdpello