JD and International Law

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
WesternDisturbanes

JD and International Law

Postby WesternDisturbanes » Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:22 pm

Hey there,

I am a long time lurker, don’t post a lot, actually very little. I am in a slightly tedious situation and I would be highly grateful if any of you guys could help me figure out what to do with my conundrum.

Here’s the thing, I am a law student from India and I’ll be graduating from India wioth my law degree in a year. From what I have got to know, if anyone wants to work in States the most preferable option is to have a J.D. (and that basically LLM is a gimmick). Is that so? I am not hesitant to repeat my Bachelors of Laws again because I know that in a better setting, I know I can also perform better given more resources, [It’s not that I have a crappy degree from, it’s from one of the better universities along with that I have a pretty decent track record interms of publications/internships et al]. Further with an LLM without a JD I don’t want to be viewed as an ‘also ran’ even before I start my law career. and I’ll be only 24 when I finish my law degree in India and if I decide to do it all over again then I would graduate when I am 27 so I guess I won’t be overtly old to be a lawyer.

What do you guys think? Is it reasonable to a J.D. all over again.

And what do you guys think about doing a JD and would it help one terms of an International Law career. If I wanted to venture out into International Law, may be? Say with an International Organization, or UN? Would they definitely need me to specialize with an LLM OR JD be good enough?

dr123

Re: JD and International Law

Postby dr123 » Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:24 pm

What exactly do you mean by "International Law"?

Veyron

Postby Veyron » Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:24 pm

Get a JD