Transfer from a Tier 3 to a Tier 1? OR Retake for next cycle

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kc2646

Transfer from a Tier 3 to a Tier 1? OR Retake for next cycle

Postby kc2646 » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:49 pm

I am a graduating undergraduate that did not do as well I as I planned on the LSAT. I can go to a tier 3 school and try to transfer (assuming I am in the top 5%) OR take some time off and get a job/study again to reapply with a better score for next cycle. Thoughts? Also, I took the LSAT twice so if I take it again I have one more shot in 2 years (taking the LSAT more than 3 times is definitely not a great idea anyway though).

Thanks!

paulinaporizkova

Re: Transfer from a Tier 3 to a Tier 1? OR Retake for next cycle

Postby paulinaporizkova » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:52 pm

in before the retake

northwood

Postby northwood » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:52 pm

take a year off, do some fun things, then re take the test and apply.

Bildungsroman

Postby Bildungsroman » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:55 pm

Weak submission. Don't anticipate this being made into a featured article.

Also, don't go to a school looking to transfer. 100% of your class is going in gunning for top 5% and 95% of you won't make it. Realistically, which side of that do you think is a more likely result for you? Only go to a school if you're happy to graduate from it.

JCougar

Postby JCougar » Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:44 am

Don't bank on transferring. Law school grades are too random and arbitrary to count on any class rank above top 75%, no matter what your talent level and preparation.