URGENT - drop entire semester or drop 2 classes?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
doolittle

URGENT - drop entire semester or drop 2 classes?

Postby doolittle » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:20 am

I'm an undergrad, going through some family problems at the moment, so I'll be unable to attend two of the three classes I'm currently taking. Should I withdraw from the entire semester or drop the two classes(and get 2 W's on my transcript)? The one class I am able to attend I have a high A in. I am a junior with a 3.95 GPA. I've never withdrawn from class before. W's at my school are non punitive. I'm not on financial aid and am well on track to graduate, so fewer units are not a huge concern. Thank you so much for your help.

dddhhh

Re: URGENT - drop entire semester or drop 2 classes?

Postby dddhhh » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:25 am

If your situation permits, I would drop the two instead of completely withdrawing. Especially since you have a high A in your other class.

KMaine

Postby KMaine » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:42 am

Even though the withdrawls may not be punitive at your school, make sure that LSAC will treat them the same way. I don't know anything about this (somebody else will), but I am just a little suspicious. If it will be a problem with LSAC, there may be a way to do well in the class without attending . . . doing the reading and getting notes. Really depend on the class, but it seems like you may be smart enough to pull it off. Sorry about your situation, and good luck.

paulinaporizkova

Postby paulinaporizkova » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:47 am