international student... U.S undergrad

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
khezraji

international student... U.S undergrad

Postby khezraji » Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:41 am

hi
my name is othman, and i'm an international student at UNC charlotte.lately, i've been taking seriously about attending an american law school. i'm majoring on international buisiness and minoring in political science. my overall GPA is a 3.8, but still have no idea what my score would be for LSAT. i have few questions if any can help me to answer and enlighten me:

-i know that UNC Charlotte is not the most prestigious school, but do i have a change to get into a t20?

-and does anyone know if i would qualify as an URM? ( i was Born and raised in Morocco and i'm a part of a minority of berbers tribes that still live in north africa, and i speak fluently four languages; berber dialect, arabic, french , and english)

please help me out because i've been feeling kind of lost with no answer to my questions
thanks

Nulli Secundus

Re: international student... U.S undergrad

Postby Nulli Secundus » Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:32 am

1 - Your school's prestige only affects you in a positive manner, unless it is an online degree or something. (That is, Harvard undergrads are said to be able to gain admission to HLS with slightly lower numbers etc.)
2 - You are not an URM. Even if only 5 people were remaining from your people in the whole world, you would not be considered an URM. For that designation, you have to identify yourself as one of the minorities found in the USA and that minority should be underrepresented proportionally in law school education in the US. (Despite this general definition, URM designation is mainly limited to African-Americans, Mexicans, Puerto-Ricans and Native Americans iirc) Though, if you think your background influenced you in a significant way, write a DS (Diversity Statement).

Conclusion: Take the LSAT, keep up & raise the GPA. You will do fine.

khezraji