Broad, Tactical Advice Needed

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Excel

Broad, Tactical Advice Needed

Postby Excel » Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:24 pm

Trying to plan out exactly my course of action to get into the best law school possible. This is my situation:

Junior, who recently transferred to a bigger school after my sophomore year. My current lsac GA is 3.2, pol sci major, econ minor. I will work to get that up, ideally to over 3.4 prior to graduation. LSAT Diagnostic score was a 163, with many bonehead errors. I have little real work experience (held a part time job for 2 1/2 years, not much else). I am on the hunt for an internship this summer, but a semester abroad which has getting home July 1st is limiting my options. This means prior to my application, I'll have spent only a total of 1 semester at the school from which I am graduating. I am not overly close with any professors, so letter of recommendation might be tough. I have a professor or two who would write for me at my previous school, and could possibly go out of my way to get in with a professor at Sydney Uni, but atm those are lacking. However, graduating on time (spring 2012) is important to me, but so is going to the bp ls.

So, the way I see it, I have 2 possible course of action:

1. Prep to apply this coming fall. Study hard for LSAT and take the test in June. Try to intern over the summer, and if not, just work at job I have had since 2008. Submit a letter of rec from all schools attended. GPA and degrees as is.

2. Add another semester (fall of 2012) before graduation. It would allow me to add on another possible internship, boost my GPA a tad, perhaps obtain another major/minor, get closer with professors for letters of rec. LSAT score prob. wouldnt change a whole lot, and neither would GPA.