Advice on Addendum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
WinterIsComing

Advice on Addendum

Postby WinterIsComing » Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am

edit...
Last edited by WinterIsComing on Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sethc

Re: Advice on Addendum

Postby sethc » Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:59 am

Ehh.. depends where you're applying, IMO. I'm no expert on how to get into a good school, but it comes off as sounding like you couldn't resist the temptation of being paid to party (hell, I don't blame you at all) which isn't intrinsically a bad thing.. but without some good explanation(s) on that decision, it's likely to be a ding on your Tier-1 schools, your LSAT+UGPA notwithstanding of course.

DeeCee

Postby DeeCee » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:03 am

sethc wrote:Ehh.. depends where you're applying, IMO. I'm no expert on how to get into a good school, but it comes off as sounding like you couldn't resist the temptation of being paid to party (hell, I don't blame you at all) which isn't intrinsically a bad thing.. but without some good explanation(s) on that decision, it's likely to be a ding on your Tier-1 schools, your LSAT+UGPA notwithstanding of course.

+1. I really couldn't understand what you were referencing in your addendum. I think you should come off extremely clear about what you are trying to convey about taking a semester off.

fathergoose

Postby fathergoose » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:15 am

I don't know that you really need an addendum. Is taking a semester off to be on TV that big of an issue?

If it resulted in you getting criminal charges, bombing a class, contracting an incurable VD then maybe, but otherwise I would tone it way down.

It sounds like you are trying to explain why you got a DWI

WinterIsComing

Postby WinterIsComing » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:25 am

Last edited by WinterIsComing on Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Perch

Postby Perch » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:26 am

the situation?

DeeCee