Where do I begin?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
PJENNEWE

Where do I begin?

Postby PJENNEWE » Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:12 am

This is my very first post in the this forum and I am pretty sure this is the right place but I am sorry if I am incorrect.

My name is Patrick and I go to Saint Louis University (ranked about 85 or so, nothing too special but still a good school) and I am in a Pre Law Scholars program that will grant me instant acceptance to SLU's law school upon graduation if I keep a 3.5 GPA and my primary major is english. I am only a freshman and so I only have one semester under my belt. However, this fall I received a 3.94 GPA. I am currently employed at Best Buy and have been since '08 and plan to be all throughout college. In addition, I have done hundreds of hours of community service in high school and right now I am looking for unique community service opportunities here around the St. Louis area. Also, I plan on being a Resident Advisor until graduation (assuming I nail the interview I have in a few weeks!). I know it is very early but I have been wanting to be a lawyer since I was in 7th grade so I know what I want. Yet I still have questions on how to get to an amazing school that I can get admitted to with proper preparation, hard work, and a little luck.

1) What are some things that can boost my resume in the years to come? I know that community service always looks good, but is there any specifics? Also, how many hours is the norm? I like doing community service so I just want to know if I have only been doing the minimum amount compared to others or not.

2) If I begin with a nearly perfect GPA, does that mean a wobbly grade trend that isn't a solid 4.0 hurt me? If I get a 3.8 next semester, a 4.0 in the fall, and 3.9 in the spring, does that look worse than gradually increasing?