Question about the next step I should take...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
brangara

Question about the next step I should take...

Postby brangara » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:21 pm

So my GPA is not where I want it to be (LSDAS 3.2), and I graduated a year early, so I don't think I can take any more courses or another degree to raise it. My papers/essays were always perfect scores, I was always just a terrible test taker, which is why my GPA is so bad.

Took the LSAT 3x with my highest being 160. I know from the numbers and from the fact I'm a terrible test taker that many would say that I shouldn't even consider law school. However, law school is something I know that I really want to do. I'm very passionate about the law, so not considering law school is not an option to me.

Advice on what should be the next step? I was in the process of applying for Fall 2011 at the moment, but I want to know how much of a difference the school I attend makes, and whether I should wait to apply or if I should go locally/transfer, etc. Thanks!

CanadianWolf

Re: Question about the next step I should take...

Postby CanadianWolf » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:24 pm

What is your LSDAS GPA ? URM ? Preferred locations for practicing ?
Last edited by CanadianWolf on Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

brangara

Postby brangara » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:25 pm

CanadianWolf wrote:What is your LSDAS GPA ? URM ?

LSDAS GPA = 3.2

LSAT = 160

Non-URM (South Asian)

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:35 pm

Much depends upon your financial situation, preferred locations & expectations from earning a law degree (career goals).
You can certainly gain admission to many tier one &, possibly, all tier two law schools. Nebraska has special programs in law & psychology that may be of interest to you. Wisconsin is a possibility (no bar exam required for graduates to become members of the Wisconsin State Bar). Denver. Miami.

RPK34