WE question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
n_gal

WE question

Postby n_gal » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:30 pm

I've held a few summer jobs over the years (nothing related to LS) that I'm not sure if I should put on my applications. First, I don't really think they care that I worked in a restaurant for 2 summers but I also believe they would rather see that I worked than sat around lazily sunning myself, correct? Next, because I didn't make enough to pay income taxes I'm not sure if something would look funny (to be clear my employed DID pay all appropriate taxes on his end, at least to the best of my knowledge). So better to leave off or on? Thanks!

fundamentallybroken

Re: WE question

Postby fundamentallybroken » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:41 pm

The applications ask for all WE, I'd put on all WE.

As for the taxes thing, I don't think the schools actually look or even have access to tax records of applicants. Hell, I work in the government now, and gaining access to tax records requires a letter from the pope. As long as you don't have a tax lien messing up your FAFSA, I think you'll be okay.

n_gal

Postby n_gal » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm

thanks!

ScottRiqui

Postby ScottRiqui » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:18 pm

Do many applications really ask for *all* WE, regardless of age? I have some jobs that will be almost 30 years in the past by the time I apply, and while I could probably piece together rough dates of employment and Google addresses for the employers that are still in business, there's no way I can come up supervisors' names or anything like that.

fundamentallybroken

Postby fundamentallybroken » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:55 pm