Non-traditional LORs

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
delusional

Non-traditional LORs

Postby delusional » Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:20 am

I am having the devil of a time trying to get LORs. I have a non-traditional degree, and I've been out of school for a few years, and a lot of my work has not been as an employee (writing, tutoring, my own business). So I'm getting LORs from one academic reference, one former part time boss, and another boss for whom I worked for seven summers. Yes, seven.

Here's an odd question - The last guy, my boss for all those summers, knows me very, very, well. I am good friends with his whole family. Also, in addition to his summer employment, he is an educator and is employed in a field related to my major. He will write about anything I ask him to. Is it juvenile to ask him to include, along with an employment reference, his observations about my academic accomplishments? I have had many discussions with him over the years about my school work, and he is qualified to express opinions about it. And, my academic reference slate is not great without him. But I'm wondering if asking someone with whom I'm personally close, to write about something other than his "official" reference point will come across as desperate and out of place.

delusional

Re: Non-traditional LORs

Postby delusional » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:27 pm

C'mon, people, you know the drill. if you don't know, make stuff up!

kalvano

Postby kalvano » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:42 pm

1 academic and 1 employer should be sufficient. It's your numbers, not your LOR's, that will carry the day.

If he wasn't your teacher, then I would avoid having him write about your academic achievements.

fastforward

Postby fastforward » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:52 pm