One bad grade in major - switch?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mcs268

One bad grade in major - switch?

Postby mcs268 » Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:40 pm

Hello, I'm a sophomore at Cornell. This past semester I received a bad grade in my intended major (although I'm trying to dispute it right now due to some discrepancies- doubt it will change). In what should've been an easy class got complicated due to personal issues and I walked away with a B- in what I believe to be an A- class in concordance with previous grade reports. Also, I'm a History major, which is why I consider this a bad grade since it's much less difficult than a B- in lets say Chemistry. I'm intent on law school, and I'm afraid with keeping my major, this B- will kill my chances.

Luckily, for my electives I found an interest in anthropology, and I'm thinking of switching but I'm not sure. I will have amassed 2 classes by the end of next semester currently (this schedule assumes i'm still history though, so I'd add another anthro class to catch up). I only need 8 classes for the major so if I take 2 anthro courses one semester and 1 for the rest in my junior and senior years I should be okay.

I understand this may sound ridiculous because its one grade, but T14 law is extremely competitive as you all know, and although I will probably raise my whole GPA since personal issues have been worked out, I'm afraid it will kill my chances especially next to an A- median grade on the transcript. My major GPA will, however, likely be low still due to that grade. If I switch, I believe my major GPA will end up higher (I find anthropology more interesting/easier than history anyway). So, do you think I should switch or not? Ideally I was planning on double majoring but definitely not with that grade, I would just stick to anthropology. Thank you!

4for44

Re: One bad grade in major - switch?

Postby 4for44 » Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:46 pm