If I end up in bottom 10% at Top 6

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dreamer

If I end up in bottom 10% at Top 6

Postby dreamer » Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:48 pm

I did quite well in graduate school. However English is not my first language. I believe law school requires good command of the language. If I end up in bottom 10% in Top 6, but I have an advanced degree in science, will I still have a good shoot at Biglaw? :roll:
Last edited by dreamer on Sat Jan 01, 2011 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dresden doll

Re: If I end up in bottom 10% at HYS

Postby dresden doll » Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:54 pm

PhD isn't helpful for OCI purposes.

Also, if your English is good enough to get you into HYS, it's good enough not to hold you back with grades.

dreamer

Postby dreamer » Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:59 pm

Also, if your English is good enough to get you into HYS, it's good enough not to hold you back with grades.

Good to know that.
Will it be easier if I just want to do patent prosecution in Biglaw?

dresden doll

Postby dresden doll » Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:07 pm

dreamer wrote:

Good to know that.
Will it be easier if I just want to do patent prosecution in Biglaw?

Oh, your PhD is science related? I take back what I said - it can come in handy.

And, yes, focusing on IP makes life easier.

nealric

Postby nealric » Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:58 pm

Because none of HYS uses standard grading, it's pretty hard to even tell if someone is in the "bottom 10%". It's all Honors/Pass/Fail. Nobody fails, and more than 10% have all Passes.

Veyron

Postby Veyron » Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:01 pm

A good networker even in the bottom 10% can land mid or biglaw. Work on being personable and you'll be good.

Postby 09042014 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:23 pm

nealric wrote:Because none of HYS uses standard grading, it's pretty hard to even tell if someone is in the "bottom 10%". It's all Honors/Pass/Fail. Nobody fails, and more than 10% have all Passes.