Revealing Acceptance to Parents, S.O., etc. Best/ Worst

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
4for44

Revealing Acceptance to Parents, S.O., etc. Best/ Worst

Postby 4for44 » Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:25 pm

So I thought it would be great to start a thread about revealing that you got into (your top choice) Law school to your parents, significant others, etc.

Give us your best and worst reveal stories!

I'll Start: I was admitted into HLS early December, but waited til yesterday to tell the parents. Gave them "an early xmas present" (because I couldn't wait haha), of Harvard Mom and Harvard Dad Shirts (credit to Vanwinkle for Idea). I had been telling them I wouldn't know for a few months so when my mom opened it, she gave me a look like well this seems a bit presumptuous. I then said, "I got in!" She screamed, my dad said "YOU GOT IN!?!?!" and now my mom wont take off the shirt :)

Alright go!

ihp12

Re: Revealing Acceptance to Parents, S.O., etc. Best/ Worst

Postby ihp12 » Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:45 pm

Mine wasn't really the method of notification but the timing.

My grandma had a really bad fall and passed away after a week in the hospital. My family was real torn up about it. After getting home from her funeral, I checked my email and found out that I had gotten into a T-20, which is basicly my top realistic choice. I printed out the acceptance email and left it on her grave.

iiibbystar

Postby iiibbystar » Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:04 pm

ihp12 wrote:Mine wasn't really the method of notification but the timing.

My grandma had a really bad fall and passed away after a week in the hospital. My family was real torn up about it. After getting home from her funeral, I checked my email and found out that I had gotten into a T-20, which is basicly my top realistic choice. I printed out the acceptance email and left it on her grave.