GPA Addendum - Good Idea?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

GPA Addendum - Good Idea?

Postby mcs268 » Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:15 pm

I'm actually a sophomore in college still, but I'm 100% intent on law school (just started studying for the LSATS for feb or june of junior year). I've been researching admissions for awhile and it looks like I'll need an addendum, but I'm not sure. My GPA at a lower ivy was a solid 3.5 before this semester, which unfortunately did not go so well due to a death in the family (not sudden, literally they were very sick/dying over a period of 2 1/2 months from the beginning of the semester).

Basically, my GPA this semester ended up being a 3.19 (I know this doesn't sound bad, but read on). My lowest grade was a B- in my easiest class, and at worst part of my major. I got a B+ in a class i expected to get an A considering my grades, and finally B is just a generally hard major class which I have no problem with. Luckily I got an A in another class, which salvaged my GPA above a 3. Thing is I emailed my professors for the B- and B+, and this is what upsets me. Participation counts 50% in the b- course, which i got a C-, so I earned an A- on tests/papers which to me is ridiculous. In the B+ course, I was above average on all aspects except the final (where i was below by a meager 3 points), but I also got a low participation grade.