WE and Stuff

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
verum custos

WE and Stuff

Postby verum custos » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:02 am

Looking for friendly advice on things I can do in roughly one year of time to strengthen my resume. I did a forum search and couldn't find quite what I was looking for.

I'm a senior UG student and I've decided to wait until next June to retake the test after an unfortunate score on the Oct test this year.

This means I'll have a year off after graduating at the end of next semester and after the June test -- which will be kind of strange.

So I figured I should try to strengthen my resume while saving money during that time off after graduation via work experience. I'll want to try to get a job as some sort of legal assistant, but if that fails, it would probably also look nice if I gained experience through a non-profit organization. What else could I do to look good? I know the basics, but I guess I'm just asking if anyone knows any secrets :wink:

I guess I could try to get involved more with a certain honor society and maybe join a certain frat some of my friends are in. Anything else?

Grizz

Re: WE and Stuff

Postby Grizz » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 am

lol @ joining a frat because it will make you look good

D-ROCCA

Postby D-ROCCA » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:11 am

Not that kind of frat.

verum custos

Postby verum custos » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:11 am

rad law wrote:lol @ joining a frat because it will make you look good

Yeah this particular chapter doesn't have the best reputation after some sexual assault thing. Maybe I'll skip that.

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:12 am

verum custos wrote:

Yeah this particular chapter doesn't have the best reputation after some sexual assault thing. Maybe I'll skip that.

Also in general if you're joining a frat for any other reason than partying/making some cool friends/getting girls you're doing it wrong.

verum custos

Postby verum custos » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:16 am