My Situation: Advice please...?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jsethgraham

My Situation: Advice please...?

Postby jsethgraham » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:08 am

Thanks for the help everyone :D
Last edited by jsethgraham on Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

sophia.olive

Re: My Situation: Advice please...?

Postby sophia.olive » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:12 am

jsethgraham wrote:Hello everyone. I was wondering if the community would be so kind as to lend its trained eye to my particular situation, and help me determine if I am on the right track. The story may get a bit lengthy, so bear with me.

First of all, I am a non-traditional student, male, 27 years of age. I am on track to finish my bachelor's degree in English Spring 2012, with an eye to beginning law school Fall 2012. If everything continues according to plan, I should graduate summa cum laude with a GPA of 3.9ish. I have gone to college off and on since 2003, forming my school schedule around my work schedule. I have been at my current university since 2009, and I will take 77 of my 120 credit hours as this institution.

I have worked with the same company for going on 10 years, 5 of which have been in upper management involving sales and marketing. Around 2008 I decided to finally get off my ass and finish my bachelors, and since that time I have gone to school full-time, worked full-time, and gotten married and had
a lovely daughter.

However,

I have what I consider a few negatives against my potential applications, any of which I feel like I could spin in a personal statement or addendum, but I wanted to put them out there to see what the community thinks. They are as follows:

1. I did not graduate high school, but earned my GED.