How important is region?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jetsfan

How important is region?

Postby jetsfan » Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:45 pm

If I wanted to work in New York City, would it be wiser to go to a school like Syracuse which is in NY, or a school like UC Hastings which is ranked higher (and I'm a CA resident).
This is completely a hypothetical, I'm just trying to decide whether to apply to Hastings or not. (I'm pretty sure I can get into Syracuse) and I want to work somewhere in the east.

For the "next job" does it matter what region the school was in or does the ranking matter more (or does the school not matter at all)?

4for44

Re: How important is region?

Postby 4for44 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:59 pm

jetsfan wrote:If I wanted to work in New York City, would it be wiser to go to a school like Syracuse which is in NY, or a school like UC Hastings which is ranked higher (and I'm a CA resident).
This is completely a hypothetical, I'm just trying to decide whether to apply to Hastings or not. (I'm pretty sure I can get into Syracuse) and I want to work somewhere in the east.

For the "next job" does it matter what region the school was in or does the ranking matter more (or does the school not matter at all)?

neither have a national reach, so aside from top 1% at UC hastings, NYC is looking glum from there. Syracuse might have a little more NYC penatration but I doubt too much. Have you thought about Fordham or Brooklyn?

jetsfan

Postby jetsfan » Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:32 am

4for44 wrote:
jetsfan wrote:If I wanted to work in New York City, would it be wiser to go to a school like Syracuse which is in NY, or a school like UC Hastings which is ranked higher (and I'm a CA resident).

neither have a national reach, so aside from top 1% at UC hastings, NYC is looking glum from there. Syracuse might have a little more NYC penatration but I doubt too much. Have you thought about Fordham or Brooklyn?