LOR - odd question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
delusional

LOR - odd question

Postby delusional » Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:08 pm

I am a few years out of full-time school, and until a few hours ago, I was very uptight about my LORs. I have a former boss, and any number of profs who won't really remember me, but will be happy to write a vanilla LOR. I don't want my current boss to be involved at all.

Anyway, I just found out that someone who knows me well, now has a prestigious position in my old school. He knew me when I was a student, and even better, he completely coincidentally worked with a business that I founded, and was very happy. The catch is that when I was a student, he was not in the position that he's in now.

Here's my question: Should I ask him to write an LOR, sign it with his current title, and assume all is well? Should he write a glowing LOR, and specify that when he knew me as a student it was not in his current role? Or should I just forgo his LOR, which can be great, in favor of a few nondescript but more traditional LORs?

Secondary question: In a case where a professor happens to have additional knowledge of a nontraditional applicant from a setting other than school, is it appropriate for him to make mention of that relationship, whether as part of his recommendation, or as a sort of disclaimer?

BrownBears09

Re: LOR - odd question

Postby BrownBears09 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:17 pm

delusional wrote:Anyway, I just found out that someone who knows me well, now has a prestigious position in my old school. He knew me when I was a student, and even better, he completely coincidentally worked with a business that I founded, and was very happy. The catch is that when I was a student, he was not in the position that he's in now.