Econ major or Ghana?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
charlesacar

Econ major or Ghana?

Postby charlesacar » Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:27 pm

Hey guys I am a newbie to the forum, and I was hoping I could get some advice about a decision I have to make.

Question:

Basically I would like to know which would mean more to an admissions board (Specifically the top 11): graduating with an Economics Degree, or spending a semester abroad in Ghana? In Ghana I would be taking courses as well as working for a NGO

Some facts:

---My Dream School is Duke
---I have a 3.8 GPA
---I am currently an academic JR and a triple Major: Political Science/Global Multinational Studies/Economics
---I preform 300 hours of community service a year in the city of Trenton
---I am an RA, and am involved in numerous campus organizations
---I am a displaced minority
---I am an Educational Opportunity Student (meaning I am poor and from a bad neighborhood)
---I haven't yet taken the lsat but for the sake of the question assume I get in Duke's low range average

Why I can't do both: I am currently taking 8 course....and I really don't want to ever again. I take 1 course every winter break and 4 every summer. Even at this rate however I will not be able to graduate with all three majors without remaining an extra semester. My school is 44 thousand dollars a year, but with scholarships, and about 2 k in government loans, I pay nothing. My scholarships will run out in a year though so staying an extra semester is not an option.

So basically I cannot do both....sooo which should I stick with?

Any advice (that isn't "take the lsat, get a 170") would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you in advance. = )

NZA

Re: Econ major or Ghana?

Postby NZA » Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:33 pm

charlesacar wrote:Any advice (that isn't "take the lsat, get a 170") would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you in advance. = )