Need to explain absurdly deflated GPA curve?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ryukpark

Need to explain absurdly deflated GPA curve?

Postby ryukpark » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:07 pm

Hi there, I am an international JD applicant.

It's been a while since I graduated from college, and back then the GPA curves were insanely deflated.

I got a "mediocre" GPA of 3.3 and yet this puts me at the top 11% of the class. (Engineering major)

The median, as far as I know was somewhere between 2.5~2.7, which is like almost a whole point lower than the norm these days.

While I have sort of mentioned this fact in my resume (i.e. GPA: 3.3 (class rank: 89%)) and already completed all application materials,

would it help to send additional letters to explicitly explain the circumstances?

Is there any way to persuade the AdComs to take the circumstances into consideration, especially for the upper T14 schools?

BTW. My LSAT is 174, and have 6 yrs. of work experience. (i.e. out of school for 6 yrs)

Would really appreciate any advice.

Nom Sawyer

Re: Need to explain absurdly deflated GPA curve?

Postby Nom Sawyer » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:13 pm

Is your school a US college or International? If its international they won't actually count your GPA against others... but definitely still include the stuff about how you were ranked in the top 11% of your class of course.

pwyoung

Postby pwyoung » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:25 pm

Your LSAT and work experience are definitely going to bail you out.

DreamShake

Postby DreamShake » Sat Dec 04, 2010 12:20 am

Nom Sawyer wrote:Is your school a US college or International? If its international they won't actually count your GPA against others... but definitely still include the stuff about how you were ranked in the top 11% of your class of course.

TITCR.

ryukpark

Postby ryukpark » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:33 am

Thanks a lot.

I attended college in South Korea.