Undergraduate graduating early, semester abroad + chances?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lifeasweknowit

Undergraduate graduating early, semester abroad + chances?

Postby lifeasweknowit » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:18 pm

Hi there,

I'm a freshman in undergrad. I'm thinking of doing a double major in international relations + philosophy with a minor in either Art History or French Language or Russian. I know it's kind of weird. I go to a top 3 Canadian university and in our school our academic year goes annually so we have 1 year courses [1.0 credits] and half year courses [0.5 credits]. Because of my AP/college level courses in high school, I was just a half year course credit shy of directly going to second year. I have accepted the credits and with my current full time course load, by next fall, when my faculty assess my credits, I will be put directly to third year. Even though I will graduate technically in my "fourth year", I would have only stayed at the university for 3 years.

I'm not so keen on staying here for an extra year, while I love the city, I just want to continue with my academic prospects in law school. So here are some of my questions:

1. I will be fulfilling all of my university and faculty's requirements for graduation, but will graduating one year early hurt my chances in [US] law school admissions?

2. My university has an exchange program going on and I'm really interested in an exchange with Sciences Po in Paris maybe during the spring semester of my next year [2012]. Does studying abroad have any negative/positive impact on me?

3. Would a LOR from Sciences Po be allowed even though I'm not officially a student of that university?

4. I also have a penchant for languages, will being fluent in 4-5 languages be an advantage? All of them have millions and millions of speakers so I guess it's not that unique.