Why do applicants withdraw applications (after submitting)? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ComatoseClown

Bronze

Why do applicants withdraw applications (after submitting)?

Post by ComatoseClown » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:25 pm

In browsing LawSchoolNumbers, I'm noticing that a decent amount of applicants withdraw their applications to other schools after they get admitted to one of their preferred law school choices. Why do they do this? (Is there some monetary advantage that ensues, such as a refund? I can't reasonably guess there is because a lot of the withdrawals I'm seeing occur more than a month following the application's "complete" status.)

I apologize if the above is a "noob" question; I'm still new to the admissions process.
Last edited by ComatoseClown on Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Ginj

Silver

Re: Why do applicants withdraw their applications?

Post by Ginj » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:26 pm

Letting schools know that you've decided not to attend opens up a slot for someone on the waitlist...and possible scholarship money. It's the nice thing to do.

im_blue

Gold

Re: Why do applicants withdraw applications (after submitting)?

Post by im_blue » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:29 pm

ED admits are required to immediately withdraw all other pending applications. RD admits don't have to withdraw, but it's common courtesy to other applicants who are waiting on decisions or on the waitlist, if one has no further interest in that school.

whymeohgodno

Gold

Post by whymeohgodno » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:29 pm

Some people ED to certain schools and withdraw from other schools if they get in ED.

Some people just have top choices that they know they will attend if they get in so they withdraw.

4for44

Bronze

Post by 4for44 » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:33 pm

Ginj wrote:Letting schools know that you've decided not to attend opens up a slot for someone on the waitlist...and possible scholarship money. It's the nice right thing to do.