Question about law firm experience (or lack thereof) as it a Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Gotti

Gold

Question about law firm experience (or lack thereof) as it a

Post by Gotti » Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:21 pm

Okay so I know that it’s not absolutely necessary to have had a job at a law firm before you apply, but obviously it looks like you actually give a shit about the field you are choosing as your career if you have had law firm experience. I graduated in June and applying to be class of 2014 and I’ve been working 20+ hours a week since the summer after my freshman year of UG, but I have absolutely no experience at a law firm. I have been a Website Development Intern, a Customer Service Rep, and am currently in the Purchasing Dept at my company (for the past 2.5 yrs). The reason for this is because these jobs have paid well and I’ve been trying to pay rent and my own expenses (outside of tuition), and a law firm job just hasn’t come around. I’ve interviewed and stuff, but nothing happened or they offered me too little money.

My question is, will law schools look at this lack of law firm experience as a negative and like I don’t have a passion for what I do? I’ve submitted all my apps and I’ve written about the area of law I’m passionate about in my DS and my Why X essays, but my resume does not reflect this. Will this come off as me BSing my passion? Should I send them all a letter explaining the reasons I don’t have this experience?

& I have an interview with a NU Alum next Monday and I’m certain he’ll ask me why I haven’t had any experience. Is the honest response (that it wasn’t financially feasible) the right one?

lshamlet

Bronze

Re: Question about law firm experience (or lack thereof) as it a

Post by lshamlet » Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:24 pm