PhD Chemistry and Law School

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
thisguy001

PhD Chemistry and Law School

Postby thisguy001 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:56 pm

Hey guys just a question about my chances. I took the LSATs 2 months ago and received my scores a couple weeks ago (172). I'm finishing my PhD in BioOrganic Chemistry/ Chemical Biology from a UC. I have a 2 Masters in Organic Chemistry one from the UC I currently attend and 1 from a Cal State that I attended after I got my BS (Chem/ minor in math.) I'm not applying to law school till the next cycle because I'm not sure if I can finish and defend my dissertation within the next 8 months. Even though I'm pretty educated I'm worried that my low undergrad GPA (3.05) is gonna hurt my chances to get into a top law school. I want to do intellectual property law and want to go to the best school I can. Where do you guys think I should apply?

Here are my stats
MS/PhD Chemistry- 4.0 GPA (8 publications) from UC
MS Organic Chemistry- 3.7 GPA with thesis from Cal State
BS Chemistry/minor math- 3.05 GPA from top 50 private school.
LSAT score -172

Thanks for all your help.
-Really confused chemist.

JazzOne

Re: PhD Chemistry and Law School

Postby JazzOne » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:00 pm

I would say not to go to law school. Any chance of parlaying your PhD into a professorship? You can always read a con law supplement if you're just dying to study law.

drdolittle

Postby drdolittle » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:02 pm

Start by checking lawschoolpredictor.com and other similar sites.

Unfortunately your grad GPAs will not matter at all. Your PhD will be a good soft, but your undergrad GPA and LSAT will far outweigh its influence on your admission chances.

whymeohgodno

Postby whymeohgodno » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:04 pm

Um, UVA ED.

Postby 09042014 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:13 pm

whymeohgodno wrote:Um, UVA ED.

Nah.