Apply now, wait for next year, or both?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
omninode

Apply now, wait for next year, or both?

Postby omninode » Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:46 am

TLS, I have a bit of a dilemma on my hands. I so wish I had found this website six months ago. I could have avoided so many mistakes. Anyway, here goes:

I have a 3.36 LSDAS GPA. Not great obviously. I have an upward trend (degree GPA is ~3.8 ) but probably not enough to make a huge difference. So with my weak GPA, the LSAT is particularly important. I got a 168 on the October test and was initially pleased with that, but now I'm not so sure. I am increasingly convinced that I want a T14, and I think my chances of getting that (especially this late in the cycle) are slim to none with my current numbers.

The thing is, I am confident that I can raise my LSAT score if I retake in June. I know, everybody says that. Please hear me out. My diagnostic test was 166 and I only beat that by 2 points. I truly believe I have room for improvement. Logic Games are my weakness. I don't know why, but RC and LR have always come easy to me; I typically score -0 or -1 on each section. My average LG is around -10. I didn't put enough time into LG study leading up to October (a mistake, I now realize), but the limited time I spent with the PowerScore bible did help me somewhat, which leads me to believe that I can do significantly better if I study LG intensively this Spring and take the June test.

As a side benefit, I will have all of my materials complete and submitted to LSDAS well ahead of time, so I will be able to send out applications on day one of the next cycle (maybe even ED somewhere, depending on circumstances) and increase my chances that way even if I can't raise my LSAT score.

My questions to you are these:

1. Now that I have almost definitely decided that I will be retaking in June and applying next Fall, should I just skip this cycle and focus on the next one?