Older Applicant & Career Military - Help or Hinder? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ScottRiqui

Gold

Older Applicant & Career Military - Help or Hinder?

Post by ScottRiqui » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:28 pm

Just wanted to get some opinions, since my situation and history seems different from that of many other LS applicants.

Bottom Line Up Front - I really want to go to UT Law, but my ancient undergrad GPA looks to be a significant problem. However, I think that my overall career experience and education might earn me some "diversity" points.

I'm currently on active duty in the U.S. Navy, and will be retiring to Texas after 20 years following my next duty assignment (I'll be 44 at the time). Texas is my "home of record" and where I lived for ten years before joining up, including high school and my undergraduate education. I'm currently a Virginia resident for tax purposes, though, so I may or may not qualify as a Texas resident for the purposes of the 65%/35% admissions rule.

My undergrad (1994) is a B.S. in Computer Science & Engineering, but my UGPA was only 2.9. I also have an M.S. in Applied Physics (2009) with a GPA of 3.92. I haven't officially taken the LSAT yet because I don't want to take it too early/too often, but all the practice tests I've taken indicate that something in the low-to-mid 170s is reasonable.

I enlisted in the Navy Nuclear Power program and completed almost all of the required schools before being picked up for Officer Candidate School in 1996. After my commission, I became a Naval Flight Officer and have had several interesting/challenging assignments during my career, which I'll be sure to describe glowingly on my resume/application.