NYU - International Students

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Njdeh

NYU - International Students

Postby Njdeh » Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:42 am

Hi, I'm a Canadian student hoping to apply to NYU Law/Stern MBA.
I heard that for international students, the GPA is thrown out? Your acceptance is based off your LSAT along with Personal Statements and References? What other strong factors come into play for international students?

Ivan91

Re: NYU - International Students

Postby Ivan91 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 8:55 am

Someone really deluded you about the GPA :)
You should ask your school send an official transcript to LSAC and they convert your grades to the 0.00 - 4.00 standard.
Problem solved.

Njdeh

Postby Njdeh » Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:14 am

Haha thats what I thought, so the criteria for international acceptance is the same as anyone then?

cigrainger

Postby cigrainger » Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:35 am

Ivan91 wrote:Someone really deluded you about the GPA :)
You should ask your school send an official transcript to LSAC and they convert your grades to the 0.00 - 4.00 standard.
Problem solved.

This is not true for most international applicants, but I believe you are correct for Canadian applicants (though I think it depends on the school's grading scheme). They absolutely do not convert you grades to a 4.0 scale for all other international applicants.

iShotFirst

Postby iShotFirst » Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:06 am

Canadian here. Yes they convert your grades to a 4.0 scale, which sucks because its usually harder to get high grades in Canadian universities.

The international treatment you were talking about is only for other countries with very different education systems. Their GPA is assumed to be at the school median and they look at LSAT and their softs only.

whymeohgodno

Postby whymeohgodno » Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:34 am

Njdeh wrote:Haha thats what I thought, so the criteria for international acceptance is the same as anyone then?