2 potentially stupid questions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Nailjohnj

2 potentially stupid questions

Postby Nailjohnj » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:48 pm

20. Has your college, university, graduate, professional or technical school course of study ever been interrupted for one or more terms, for any reason?
D. Has your College or University, Graduate or Professional been interrupted for one or more terms for any reason?

I graduated college 2 years ago and am just now applying to law school. does this type of question apply to me? My studies were never interrupted in college, I was just dealing with some issues that prevented me from going to law school.

Excluding only minor traffic offenses, have you ever been detained, arrested, formally accused, cited, or prosecuted for the violation of any law?

I know this one has been asked before, but I have only been cited for minor traffic violations, with the worst being a careless A driving ticket. Does this one apply to me?

Thanks for the help, everybody!

r6_philly

Re: 2 potentially stupid questions

Postby r6_philly » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:50 pm

1. No. That's the norm. They want to see disruption before you receive your degree.

2. Careless driving usually is a minor offense. Reckless driving is more serious and a demeanor I think. I wouldn't worry about careless.

northwood

Postby northwood » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:51 pm

first question- does not apply to you. A lot of law school applicants have been out of undergrad for a year or 2 or more before they apply. It only applies to someone who takes a break before graduating ( major illness, childbirth, etc)

second question- depends on how the school words it. If it says ( including speeding tickets, etc) then yes. If it does not, then you dont have to answer. If you are still confused, call the school and ask.

NZA

Postby NZA » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:52 pm

Nailjohnj wrote:#1