Passing up on HYSCCN Acceptance to Increase Chances at OCI?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
D-ROCCA

Passing up on HYSCCN Acceptance to Increase Chances at OCI?

Postby D-ROCCA » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:45 pm

Is there a scenario in which it would be beneficial for someone straight out of UG to forgo acceptance at a T14 school in order to gain work experience for a few years in the hopes of increasing job prospects at OCI? I'm in undergrad and have below-average softs, and am fearful that I might be the type of candidate that may strike out at OCI because I have little useful work experience to attract future Biglaw employers.

At the same time, it would suck to be admitted to a top school, decide not to go, and then not have the opportunity to attend said top school in the future. I currently have numbers to be competitive at T6 schools.

TL;DR version-should I pass on HYSCCNMVP to get work experience to improve my chances at OCI?

EDIT: for clarity/accuracy.
Last edited by D-ROCCA on Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JazzOne

Re: Deferring Acceptance to Increase Chances at OCI?

Postby JazzOne » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:47 pm

Have you already applied? If you have an acceptance from a T6, you should go. If you haven't applied yet, then it's more reasonable to get some WE. I'd still go T6 over WE if I could unless it was really high-paying WE.

Dany

Re: Passing up on HYSCCN Acceptance to Increase Chances at OCI?

Postby Dany » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:49 pm

Deferral is TCR. Not sure which other T6 schools will let you, but I talked to an NYU deferred student who said it was ridiculously easy.

JazzOne

Postby JazzOne » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:50 pm

eskimo wrote:Deferral is TCR. Not sure which other T6 schools will let you, but I talked to an NYU deferred student who said it was ridiculously easy.

Ya, but he said a "few" years of WE. Deferral isn't going to do that for you.

D-ROCCA

Postby D-ROCCA » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:50 pm