3.5 / 164-166 Sent out apps but want to retake in Feb

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
youarereadingthis

3.5 / 164-166 Sent out apps but want to retake in Feb

Postby youarereadingthis » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:13 pm

I took the lsat last year and scored within that range, which was a point or two higher than I was scoring on PT's. I thought my softs were strong enough to pull me into a T14 school and applied to several of them this cycle as well as some great regional T1 schools.

Now, I still haven't heard back from any schools and have not asked them to hold my application for a future lsat score. However, I was working a full time job the first time I studied for the exam and don't feel like I really peaked because my study time was extrememly limited. Each PT was a higher score than the one before it and I only took 4 in total before my exam.

Things at my current job aren't so rosey and I am contemplating a retake in February while studying full time and giving it my undivided attention.

I know I didn't time this well...

Do you suggest doing this? Should I contact schools to tell them to hold my application if I become confident in my subsequent PT scores? If I get rejected from the schools I just realized I really wanted to attend before the Feb test, would I be at a disadvantage if I apply again next year with a higher score?

How high of a score would I need for a second go at CCN?

I thought I would be proud to go to several specific T1 schools outside the T14, but I realized I'm not really following my dreams. I'd prefer to give it an honest shot and fail than to play it safe.

Please give me advice

frost

Re: 3.5 / 164-166 Sent out apps but want to retake in Feb

Postby frost » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:20 pm

Definitely retake if you think you can score significantly higher, as in at least a 169 given the 3-point error margin.