need a resume boost-is a business cert worth it?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jackattack17

need a resume boost-is a business cert worth it?

Postby jackattack17 » Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:30 am

So, I'm thinking about taking this online business essentials certification program that my UG offers (I graduated in May) to boost my resume a little. It costs $2700, takes 2 months or so (online), and I would update my resume to reflect this. I'm probably WL on most of the schools I'm applying to. So my question is, will this be worth it and help me get over the hump?

northwood

Re: need a resume boost-is a business cert worth it?

Postby northwood » Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:32 am

i dont think so. At this point in the game, its going to be too late. You need to do something with it for it to have a marginal return on your investment. 2,700 plus your time is a decent sized investment for something that will marginally help your cause.

Now, if you were to wait a year, and put that certificate to good use- then id say do it. But since it sounds like you want to go to school in the fall, I dont think there is enough time to justify it. my 2 cents on it, do what you think is best.

YCrevolution

Postby YCrevolution » Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:29 pm

gdizz01

Postby gdizz01 » Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:44 pm

Impact on admission will probably be negligible...

...however...