geo constraint and, well, old age

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
valleybound

geo constraint and, well, old age

Postby valleybound » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:14 pm

Hi all,
First post in the forum! I am located in the Silicon Valley and currently works in high tech. I've been contemplating law school for a while, and it's been a difficult decision - I have a serious geographical constraint as in I cannot relocate and can only consider Stanford or Santa Clara U. My undergrad GPA is 4.0 and I have a PhD in engineering, if that helps. I have yet to take / study for the LSAT. I am not even sure if I should apply, because I am in my early 30s and have a big mortgage and a family. Stanford's site listed 25 as the average age of incoming students, and from the boards it seems so if not younger! Financially it definitely makes better sense for a twenty something to go to law school. I can't seem to justify my decision.
This is probably out of place but I guess I just want to hear other's opinions / similar experience...
Thanks!

Adjudicator

Re: geo constraint and, well, old age

Postby Adjudicator » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:24 pm

Hello. If your choices are really limited to Stanford and Santa Clara U, study your ass off for the LSAT and shoot for Stanford. WIth a 4.0 UG GPA and a Ph.D in Engineering, you have a lot going for you and Stanford is certainly on the table, but the LSAT is a huge difference-maker. If you can score in the 170s, Stanford is a good possibility.

Santa Clara U is probably not worth going in your situation, unless you got a full scholarship. And even then maybe not worth it.
Last edited by Adjudicator on Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Kretzy

Postby Kretzy » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:24 pm

valleybound wrote:Hi all,