how does scholarship work?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mz253

how does scholarship work?

Postby mz253 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:45 pm

i am looking at LSN and found that many people with my stats get decent scholarship from some T2 schools. I wonder how it works?

I'm an international student, so i guess i'm not eligible for any federal or state financial aid. i wonder the numbers shown in LSN are merit-based or need based?

if it's merit based? what T-2 schools are generous with scholarships?

Thanks!

OGR3

Re: how does scholarship work?

Postby OGR3 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:50 pm

mz253 wrote:i am looking at LSN and found that many people with my stats get decent scholarship from some T2 schools. I wonder how it works?

I'm an international student, so i guess i'm not eligible for any federal or state financial aid. i wonder the numbers shown in LSN are merit-based or need based?

Thanks!

It's almost entirely merit-based. If you have similar or higher stats, you can expect to get scholarship money. Keep in mind that the scholarships on LSN are often what has been negotiated, rather than initially offered by the school, so don't lose hope if the starting number is lower than you would have liked.

mz253

Postby mz253 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:58 pm

thanks for the info. i think i don't need to fill out any forms, right? (most schools I applied to didn't have any scholarship applications.)

OGR3 wrote:
mz253 wrote:i am looking at LSN and found that many people with my stats get decent scholarship from some T2 schools. I wonder how it works?

Thanks!

It's almost entirely merit-based. If you have similar or higher stats, you can expect to get scholarship money. Keep in mind that the scholarships on LSN are often what has been negotiated, rather than initially offered by the school, so don't lose hope if the starting number is lower than you would have liked.

OGR3

Postby OGR3 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:00 pm