non-traditional, how much will these softs matter?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
santisuk

non-traditional, how much will these softs matter?

Postby santisuk » Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:52 am

163 / 3.66
Newbie here. I've been out of undergrad for 7 years, spent 5 years in Thailand working with a non-profit in the slums of Bangkok (community development/organizing), fluent in Thai, planning on public interest law. I'm just trying to gauge whether this kind of experience will help me much or if I should still rely solely on the predictions for my numbers. Any reaches that I should try for that someone shouldn't otherwise attempt with just those numbers? I'm not aiming for biglaw, but from what I've heard PI jobs are also super competitive these days, so I'd like to go to the best school I can get into. Thanks for any thoughts!

im_blue

Re: non-traditional, how much will these softs matter?

Postby im_blue » Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:23 am

Your softs are fine but they won't get you into a reach school. Since you live in CA, you should aim for the schools in your range: UC Davis, UC Hastings, Pepperdine, Loyola LA, and USD.

JazzOne

Postby JazzOne » Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:45 am

Softs don't help.

runningzigzag

Postby runningzigzag » Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:24 am

I've heard that schools only care about numbers.

The Gentleman

Postby The Gentleman » Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:42 am

im_blue wrote:Your softs are fine but they won't get you into a reach school. Since you live in CA, you should aim for the schools in your range: UC Davis, UC Hastings, Pepperdine, Loyola LA, and USD.

It may sound crazy, but why not throw an app at UC Berkely? If you can craft your experience working in Thailand into an awesome PS, then you at least have a chance. Not a very good one, but a chance nonetheless.

KMaine

Postby KMaine » Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:49 am