Getting a LOR from a current teacher?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Anomaly

Getting a LOR from a current teacher?

Postby Anomaly » Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:55 pm

Last edited by Anomaly on Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

ATR

Re: Getting a LOR from a current teacher?

Postby ATR » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:13 pm

I'm no expert on this, but it doesn't strike me as a huge issue, assuming he can accurately describe your abilities.

2011Law

Postby 2011Law » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:14 pm

Pretty similar situation here. Taking the LSAT for the first time on the 11th, I don't feel comfortable even asking any of my former teachers for a LOR (I always get A's in the classes I don't attend or B's in the ones I do), but am sure that I will get A's in two classes I'm taking now (PoliSci with essays/part essay exams), so I think these are the profs I should ask. I don't think I can really wait to ask until the class is over and grades are in (Dec 17), because I'm not 100% sure they'll say yes and even if they did that they would have them done and sent to LSAC by the time my scores come in (12/30 possibly), since I hear it can take two weeks for their letters to be uploaded to LSAC. So what I'm thinking about doing is asking during office hours either this upcoming week or the next if they could write one up. If they say they need to wait until the course is completed, then I'll explain the situation to them and ask if they can write it before the final and send it as soon as they have the final graded.

This is my plan, let me know what you think.

whymeohgodno

Postby whymeohgodno » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:22 pm

Why would this be frowned upon? I'm getting a LOR from a professor that I have class with this semester but I also took classes with him before...I really don't see how this could hurt you unless I'm missing something from your original post.

2011Law

Postby 2011Law » Sun Nov 07, 2010 1:50 pm