Q abt GW and IP law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ajr

Bronze

Q abt GW and IP law

Post by ajr » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:01 pm

Reposting in what I think is the right forum:

Hey guys, I am an engineer with 8 years of work ex and a decent stable job paying well. Would you call me a fool if I quit and went to GW at sticker to do IP law? Thoughts appreciated.

digitalcntrl

Bronze

Re: Q abt GW and IP law

Post by digitalcntrl » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:29 pm

ajr wrote:Reposting in what I think is the right forum:

Hey guys, I am an engineer with 8 years of work ex and a decent stable job paying well. Would you call me a fool if I quit and went to GW at sticker to do IP law? Thoughts appreciated.
The age old question, as usual it depends on a lot of things (e.g. do you like your job, does it pay well, are you risk averse, how much debt are you willing to take up, etc.). No one can seriously answer these questions but you. However let me make a few things clear about the field (I am a patent agent who goes to law school in the evening). In general your engineering exp/degree matter a lot more than the legal degree. The type of degree/area of expertise matter a lot, EE is the gold standard the rest are in various other spots. GW is likely to run you 210K in debt (that is a pretty significant investment, not to mention the loss of the pay check). I would actually recommend you do what I did, get a job as a patent agent and see if you are any good in/like this field before going to law school. My firm pays for law school which is a nice bonus.

ajr

Bronze

Post by ajr » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:04 pm

Thanks digital cntrl.