Grad School Grades Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
spb2822

New

Grad School Grades

Post by spb2822 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:52 am

How do admissions committees view grades in graduate school?

I received a Master's degree from a top school in NYC. I graduated with a 4.0 which I would think would be factored in somehow during the admissions process, but all I ever read about is the 2 things really considered are UGPA and LSAT score. My UGPA was only a 3.1. Just wondering what my chances are at law schools in NYC area? LSAT 166

NYU (obvious reach)
Columbia (obvious reach)
but what about Fordham, Yeshiva, Brooklyn, Rutgers-Newark, Seton Hall?

mteevin

Bronze

Re: Grad School Grades

Post by mteevin » Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:07 am

law schools are unable to put much weight into graduate degree grades because LSAC does not provide them with information about the institution you are attending. for instance, on your academic summary report, mean GPA and mean LSAT for your UG institution is listed, in order to give law school adcoms a chance to compare relative grade inflation across schools. this information is not provided for graduate institutions, meaning that adcoms have absolutely no way to gauge the relative difficulty of your particular program, making them awfully wary.

patrickd139

Gold

Post by patrickd139 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:21 am

Predictions:

NYU-Out
CLS-Out
Fordham- WL;Out
'Dozo-In
BLS-In
Rutgers-In
Seton Hall-In

Grad school grades are (at best) a soft factor. Most people get As, and the post above explained how the grad schools don't submit aggregate academic summary reports to compare your 4.0 with the other 4.0s your grad school gives out. Advice: retake.

spb2822

New

Post by spb2822 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:15 pm

Any thoughts about if I applied to the P/T program at Fordham? Any better luck?

NYC_7911

Bronze

Post by NYC_7911 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:24 pm