3.6/178~180/international student

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
W_from China

3.6/178~180/international student

Postby W_from China » Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:19 am

I am from China and my major is computer science at one of the top 10 collage in China. I would planed to apply a CS master or PHD with a test of GRE, before lately I found my real interests in Law and being a lawer.

My GPA is 90/100, which I guess is about 3.6~3.7 of 4. I have not attend the Lsat test yet while I got really good points at model tests, depend on which I guess I can get 178 or even higher points in a real examination.

Do I have a good chance getting the offer from Harvard, yale, or stanford?

Re: 3.6/178~180/international student

Postby 2014 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:56 am

3.6 is on the lowside for HYS.

Assuming that you can get 178+ is extremely ridiculous. Your chances of doing so are very low even if you can score in that range on practice tests.

kazu

Postby kazu » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:02 am

An international GPA is not translated into a numerical U.S. GPA equivalent. You will get a ranking of either Superior, Above Average, Average, or Below Average when you submit your transcripts to LSAC.

+1 on 2014 though. You need to come back later with an actual LSAT score.

W_from China

Postby W_from China » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:19 am

2014 wrote:3.6 is on the lowside for HYS.

Assuming that you can get 178+ is extremely ridiculous. Your chances of doing so are very low even if you can score in that range on practice tests.

Thank you very much ^_^

I just want to know the highest level I can reach…… I mean I can't promote my GPA any more and LSAT is the only factor that I can do something about

If with assuming the best result i can get, there is still extremly low chance getting into HYS, maybe I should apply a cs master rather than a JD