Can your resume have a BIG impact on your admission? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
legal10101

Bronze

Can your resume have a BIG impact on your admission?

Post by legal10101 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:27 pm

I understand the impact of the LSAT and GPA on admission, but what about the resume?
I am a non-traditional student. I have been working as a paralegal for the last 8 years. I am a Certified Coder and Certified in Healthcare Compliance. I am hoping to be accepted into a health law program in the Chicagoland area. I have looked at several schools, mostly T2. I am concerned I did not do well on my LSAT. Honestly, I never scored over a 155 when taking the practice tests, and yes I did spend a significant amount of time studying. (Don't eat that alive)

dihydrogenmonoxide

New

Re: Can your resume have a BIG impact on your admission?

Post by dihydrogenmonoxide » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:29 pm

If you could improve your LSAT, Northwestern seems like an ideal fit given your Chicago preference and the fact that they value work experience to a far greater degree than any other T20 law school.

Platinum

Post by 2014 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:36 pm

If your resume is filled with typos, obsenities, or loaded up with jobs you got fired from, that could have a big effect on your application I suppose.

Grizz

Diamond

Post by Grizz » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:37 pm

Not really gonna have much of an impact unfortunately. Agree with the above wrt NW.

legal10101

Bronze

Post by legal10101 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:43 pm