would it be wise...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
pattymac

would it be wise...

Postby pattymac » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:10 am

Hey guys,
Would it be wise to go into a JD/MBA program on a part-time basis? I think I can swing a nearby TTT paying $15,000 a year and go through the whole summer while living at home. I can almost pay that out of pocket. That would also be without any scholarship $.

My end goal is to work for a corporation, on any level. I have no background in business, but I'm a bit of an autodidact and have a genuine interest in it.

I'm hoping that if I don't use the JD right away given the current legal market, I'll be able to land some sort of job with the MBA until the job market gets better (if that happens). Is this feasible, given the economy, or are MBA grads struggling just as hard for employment? FWIW, the TTT is Wayne State U, in Detroit, Michigan...I'd be competeing with University of Detroit Mercy and Cooley grads.

OmbreGracieuse

Re: would it be wise...

Postby OmbreGracieuse » Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:32 pm

I think if you can do it, go for it. I have a friend with an MBA, and he claims it is recession proof. He makes a decent amount of money, too (he works for a bank). I think, genuinely, if you can do it feasibly then go for it!

Good luck. :)

Lwoods

Postby Lwoods » Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:45 pm

OmbreGracieuse wrote:I think if you can do it, go for it. I have a friend with an MBA, and he claims it is recession proof. He makes a decent amount of money, too (he works for a bank). I think, genuinely, if you can do it feasibly then go for it!

Good luck. :)