I need to cut my PS in half!!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
rso11

I need to cut my PS in half!!

Postby rso11 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:50 pm

Hey! My personal statement is literally 2xs as long as it's allowed to be. Because it's all important to me, I'm having a hard time culling it. Be honest - but not assholes, and please tell me what you think I can get rid of. Oh, and I still need to add a conclusion and I know the intro is shitty. Thanks!!!

I have had two intellectual passions: gender issues, and the analysis and interpretation of literature. What draws me to both is the opportunity they present to explore inequalities of power in ways which are nuanced and contextualized. However, as a student I was frustrated by the lack of praxis to buttress the theory I learned in the classroom. It was this intense frustration, and the desire to bridge the gap between theory and praxis, that led me to pursue the study of law.

For a good year and a half during my undergraduate career, I wanted to enter a doctoral program and become a literature professor. I was obsessed. Literature was my religion: a key, it gave me answers. It was my area of natural expertise, a field that allowed for creativity while demanding logic and discipline. I would pore over texts for evidence of an idea. As soon as I thought of an argument—a particular interpretation and function of a passage, motif, narrative break, or character—it would seem too obvious, and therefore not enough for a compelling paper. The semi-obvious would drive me to dig deeper into the text, to piece together different moments in the text to support or refute my original idea, and so allow me to find a larger meaning behind the specific instance with which I began. It was an arduous, but rewarding process.